STATE OF ARKANSAS

Department of Finance and Administration

Employee Disclosure/Certification and Employment of Family Members Form
	1.      FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No       
	Are you a current or former* state employee?

	 
	
	

	2.      FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No          
	Are you a current Constitutional Officer** or Arkansas General Assembly member?

	
	
	

	3.      FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	Are you the spouse of a current Constitutional Officer** or Arkansas General Assembly member?

	
	   ► If  “Yes,” give spouse’s name & office.
	     

	3.a.   FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	If  “Yes,” is your expected salary above the pay grade 13, level IV?   

	
	
	

	4.      FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	Are you a former* member or the spouse of a former member of the Arkansas General Assembly?

	
	   ► If “Yes,” give member or spouse’s name & office.
	     

	4.a.   FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	If “Yes,” did you serve or did your spouse serve within the last 24 months?

	4.b.   FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	If “Yes,” within the 24 months prior to your leaving office or your spouse leaving office, was the position for which you are being considered created by legislative action, or if the maximum salary level increased by more than 15%, was this authorized by legislative action?

	
	
	

	5.      FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	Are you a relative† of the Public Official‡ in charge of the agency in which you are applying?

	
	   ► If  “Yes,” give relative’s name, position or office & relationship.
	     

	
	
	

	6.      FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	Are you a relative† (other than the spouse) of a Constitutional Officer or an Arkansas General Assembly member or are you a relative† of a state employee, state board or commission member?

	
	   ► If  “Yes,” give relative’s name, position or office & relationship.
	     

	
	
	

	7.      FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	If you checked “Yes” in #6 above, does this relative† work within the state agency in which you are applying?

	7.a.   FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No    
	If  “Yes”, is the position for which you are applying in the direct line of supervision of your relative or will the position be a supervisory employee of the relative.


*Former is defined as within the last 24 months.

**Constitutional Officer: Governor, Lt. Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, Auditor, Treasurer, Land Commissioner.

†Relative includes: : husband, wife, mother, father, stepmother, stepfather, mother-in-law, father-in-law, sister, brother, stepsister, stepbrother, half-sister, half-brother, sister-in-law, brother-in-law, daughter, son, stepdaughter, stepson, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, aunt, uncle, first cousin, niece or nephew.

‡Public Official includes constitutional officers; members of the Arkansas General Assembly; the executive head of any agency, department, board, commission, institution, bureau, or council of the state. 

I understand that to be eligible for employment with the State of Arkansas, I must be in compliance with Governor’s Executive Order 98-04, Governor’s Policy Directive No. 8 and Arkansas Code Annotated (ACA) §21-8-304, which state, in part, that, while employed as a state employee, I cannot enter into any Professional Services Contract or Consultant Service Contract with any state agency unless I am providing Nursing Services and contracting with the Department of Health & Human Services. I also understand that as an employee of the State of Arkansas I am restricted from supervising or being supervised by a relative under ACA §25-16-1002.  If I am hired and it can be proven I falsely disclosed or failed to disclose information I could be subject to criminal, civil and/or administrative remedies.  I assert that I have answered the above questions to the best of my knowledge.

	     
	
	                                                              
	
	   
	-
	  
	-
	    

	Applicant Name (Please Print)
	
	          Signature of Applicant with Date
	
	     Social Security Number


INSTRUCTIONS FOR HIRING OFFICIAL:

A. The applicant cannot be hired if they answered YES to 2, 4b, 5, or 7a.

B. Submit the form to the State Chief Fiscal Officer (CFO) and the Joint Budget Committee (JBC) / Legislative Council (LC) if the applicant answered YES to 3a.  Submit from approved by the CFO & JBC/LC with the hire packet. (The State CFO is the DFA Director.)
C. Submit the form to your agency Human Resource Manager if the applicant answered YES to 6 or 7.  Submit the form approved by HR manager with the hire packet.
D. Complete the form by both the applicant and the Hiring Official (Supervisor).  If the applicant answers NO to each question or YES only to 1, 3, 4 and/or 4a.  (See instructions above if YES to 3a, 4b or other questions).  Submit the completed & signed form along with the hire packet.
This form must be completed by the Hiring Official (Supervisor) for ALL applicants offered employment.

	Agency/Institution
	     
	Hiring Official
	     

	Position Applied for
	     
	Position #
	     
	Pay Grade
	  
	Salary
	     


I certify that the applicant meets the education and experience qualifications required to perform the duties of the position for which they are being considered.

	
	
	     
	

	Signature of Agency/Institution Hiring Official

	
	Phone Number
	


	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Approved
	
	     
	
	     
	
	     
	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Disapproved
	
	Agency/Institution Human Resource Manager
	
	Agency Number
	
	Date
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Rev. 9/20/05
STATE OF ARKANSAS

Department of Finance and Administration

Employee Disclosure Requirements/Restrictions Notice

Employee Disclosure Requirements Notice
Employees must report any benefit obtained from a state contract by a business in which the employee has a financial interest.        Ark. Code Ann. § 19-11-706. The employee must report this benefit to the Director of the Department of Finance and Administration.  


A state employee has a “financial interest” in a business if he/she:

· has received within the past year, or is presently or in the future entitled to receive, more than one thousand dollars ($1000) per year, as a result of ownership of any part of the business or any involvement in the business; or

· owns more than a five percent (5%) interest in the business; or

· holds a position in the business such as an officer, director, trustee, partner, employee, or the like, or holds any position of management.


Any employee who knows or should have known of such benefit and fails to report the benefit to the director is in breach of the ethical standards of Ark. Code Ann. § 19-11-706.

Employee Disclosure Restriction Notice

State employees are restricted from employment under certain conditions, both during the time they are employed by the state and after they leave state employment.  Ark. Code Ann. § 19-11-709. These restrictions include:

· employment of a current state employee involved in procurement by any party contracting with the state;

· former employees from representing anyone other than the state under certain conditions in matters which the employee participated personally and substantially or which were within the former employee’s official responsibility;

· partners of a current or former state employee from representing anyone other than the state under certain conditions; 

· selling to the state after termination of employment under certain conditions.


Any current or former state employee who violates any of these employment restrictions is in breach of the ethical standards of Ark. Code Ann. § 19-11-709.


Penalties for Non-Compliance with Ark. Code Ann. § 19-11-706 or  § 19-11-709

In addition to civil and administrative remedies, Ark. Code Ann. § 19-11-712 allows the Director of the Department of Finance and Administration to impose  against any employee who fails to comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 19-11-706 or § 19-11-709, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing, any one or more of the following:

· oral or written warnings or reprimands;

· forfeiture of pay without suspension;

· suspension with or without pay for specified periods of time; and

· termination of employment.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated § 19-11-702, any employee who shall knowingly violate either of these restrictions shall be guilty of a felony and upon conviction shall be fined in any sum not to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or shall be imprisoned not less than one (1) nor more than five (5) years, or shall be punished by both.

I certify that I have read this Notice and the Ark. Code Ann. §§ 19-11-706, 19-11-702, 19-11-709 and 19-11-712 on the reverse side.  The Rule promulgated to enforce Executive Order 98-04 contain additional information regarding this reporting requirement at Section 13 & 14, posted by the agency in a conspicuous place.  I understand that it is my responsibility to comply with the requirement to report as explained in Ark. Code Ann §§ 19-11-706 & 19-11-709, this Notice and the rule.

     










     
Agency Name                                                                                                                                                 Hiring Official                                

     






     
Name of Employee (Please Print)



Social Security Number








     
Signature of Employee




Date

See back for Arkansas Code Annotated §§ 19-11-702, 19-11-706, 19-11-709 and 19-11-712
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EXCERPTS FROM ARKANSAS CODE ANNOTATED §19-11 SUBCHAPTER 7

19-11-702. Penalties.

Any employee or nonemployee who shall knowingly violate any of the provisions of this subchapter shall be guilty of a felony and upon conviction shall be fined in any sum not to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or shall be imprisoned not less than one (1) nor more than five (5) years, or shall be punished by both. 

19-11-706. Employee disclosure requirements.
(a) Disclosure of Benefit Received from Contract. Any employee who has or obtains any benefit from any state contract with a 



business in which the employee has a financial interest shall



report such benefit to the Director of the Department of Finance

 

and Administration. However, this section shall not apply to a



contract with a business where the employee's interest in the 



business has been placed in a disclosed blind trust. 

(b) Failure to Disclose Benefit Received. Any employee who knows or should have known of such benefit and fails to report the 



benefit to the director is in breach of the ethical standards

 

of this section.

19-11-709. Restrictions on employment of present and former employees.
(a) Contemporaneous Employment Prohibited. It shall be a breach of ethical standards for any employee who is involved in procurement to become or be, while such an employee, the employee of any party contracting with the state agency by which the employee is employed.

(b) 
Restrictions on Former Employees in Matters Connected 
with Their Former Duties.

(1) Permanent Disqualification of Former Employee Personally Involved in a Particular Matter. It shall be a breach of ethical standards for any former employee knowingly to act as a principal or as an agent for anyone other than the state in connection with any:

(A) Judicial or other proceeding, application, request for a ruling, or other determination;
(B) Contract;

(C) Claim; or

(D) Charge or controversy 

in which the employee participated personally 
and substantially through decision, approval, 
disapproval, recommendation, rendering of 
advice, investigation, or otherwise while an 
employee, where the state is a party or has a 
direct and substantial interest.

(2) One-Year Representation Restriction Regarding Matters for Which a Former Employee Was Officially Responsible. It shall be a breach of ethical standards for any former employee, within one (1) year after cessation of the former employee's official responsibility in connection with any:

(A) Judicial or other proceeding, application, request for a ruling, or other determination;

(B) 
Contract;

(C) 
Claim; or

(D) 
Charge or controversy 

      
knowingly to act as a principal or as an agent 
for anyone other than the state in matters 


which were within the former employee's

 
official responsibility, where the state is a 


party or has a direct or substantial interest.

(c) Disqualification of Partners.

(1) When Partner Is a State Employee. It shall be a breach of 


ethical standards for a person who is a partner of an employee


knowingly to act as a principal or as an agent for anyone other 


than the state in connection with any:

(A) 
Judicial or other proceeding, application, 
request for a ruling, or other determination;

(B) 
Contract;

(C) Claim; or

(D) Charge or controversy 

in which the employee either participates 
personally and substantially through 
decision, approval, disapproval, 

recommendation, the rendering of advice, 
investigation, or otherwise, or which is the 

subject of the employee's official 
responsibility, where the state is a party 

or has a direct and substantial interest.


(2) When a Partner Is a Former State Employee. It shall be a 


breach of ethical standards for a partner of a former employee 


knowingly to act as a principal or as an agent for anyone other 


than the state where such former employee is barred under 


subsection (b) of this section.

(d)
(1) Selling to State After Termination of Employment Is 


Prohibited. It shall be a breach of ethical standards for any 


former employee, unless the former employee's last annual 


salary did not exceed ten thousand five hundred dollars 


($10,500), to engage in selling or attempting to sell 



commodities or services to the state for one (1) year following 


the date employment ceased.


(2) The term "sell", as used in this subsection, means signing a 


bid, proposal, or contract; negotiating a contract; contacting

 

any employee for the purpose of obtaining, negotiating, or 



discussing changes in specifications, price, cost allowances, 



or other terms of a contract; settling disputes concerning 



performance of a contract; or any other liaison activity with



a view toward the ultimate consummation of a sale although 


the actual contract therefore is subsequently negotiated by 


another person.

(e)
(1) This section is not intended to preclude a former employee 


from accepting employment with private industry solely 


because his employer is a contractor with this state.


(2) This section is not intended to preclude an employee, a former 


employee, or a partner of an employee or former employee 


from filing an action as a taxpayer for alleged violations of this 


subchapter.

19-11-712. Civil and administrative remedies against employees who breach ethical standards.
(a) Existing Remedies Not Impaired. Civil and administrative 
remedies against employees which are in existence on July 1, 
1979, shall not be impaired.

(b) Supplemental Remedies. In addition to existing remedies for 
breach of the ethical standards of this subchapter, or regulations 
promulgated thereunder, the Director of the Department of Finance 
and Administration may impose any one (1) or more of the 
following:

(1) Oral or written warnings or reprimands;

(2) Forfeiture of pay without suspension;

(3) Suspension with or without pay for specified periods of time; &

(4) Termination of employment.

(c) 
Right to Recover from Employee Value Received in Breach of 
Ethical Standards. The value of anything received by an 
employee in breach of the ethical standards of this subchapter, 


or regulations promulgated thereunder, shall be recoverable by the 
state as provided in § 19-11-714, which refers to recovery of value 
transferred or received in breach of ethical standards.

(d) Due Process. Notice and an opportunity for a hearing shall be 
provided prior to imposition of any of the remedies set forth in 
subsection (b) of this section.

STATE OF ARKANSAS

Department of Finance and Administration
Employee Disclosure Requirements

In Compliance with Governor’s Executive Order 98-04
Arkansas Code Annotated § 19-11-706

Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated § 19-11-706, employees are required to disclose any benefit received from any state contract.  Specifically:

(a) Any employee who has or obtains any benefit from any state contract with a

business in which the employee has a financial interest shall report such benefit 

to the Director of the Department of Finance and Administration.  However, this

section shall not apply to a contract with a business where the employee’s interest

in the business has been placed in a disclosed blind trust.

(b) Any employee who knows or should have known of such benefit and fails to 

report the benefit to the director is in breach of the ethical standards of this

section. 

This employee disclosure shall be made within 30 days after the employee has actual or constructive

notice of a benefit received or to be received.  Such disclosure shall be made by completing this Employee Disclosure Requirements form and forwarding this completed form to:







Director







Department of Finance and Administration







P. O. Box 3278







Little Rock, AR  72203-3278

Employee Name:      












Agency Name/ Division where employed:      



Name of Person/Business involved with State Contract:      


Name of Government Body with which the Business has a Contract:      




Dollar Amount and Nature of Contract:      




Nature and extent of the benefit received or to be received:      
     





     

                                                                                                                                                                                                          



Employee’s Signature








Date

The following is a page from a sample employment 

application that contains the checklist for employee disclosure. 

DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS

Governor’s Executive Order 98-04, Governor’s Policy Directive #8, and ACA §21-8-304 require that the following information be disclosed to be considered for employment with the State of Arkansas.

1. Are you one of the following:






 FORMCHECKBOX 
 current member of the AR General Assembly?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 former member of the AR General Assembly?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 current constitutional officer?



 FORMCHECKBOX 
 former constitutional officer?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 current state employee?



 FORMCHECKBOX 
 former state employee?

2. Are any of your relatives one of the following: (Relative is defined as husband, wife, mother, father, stepmother, stepfather, mother-in-law, father-in-law, brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, half-brother, half-sister, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, daughter, son, stepdaughter, stepson, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, uncle, aunt, first cousin, nephew, or niece)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 current member of the AR General Assembly?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 former member of the AR General Assembly?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 current constitutional officer?



 FORMCHECKBOX 
 former constitutional officer?

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 current state employee?



 FORMCHECKBOX 
 former state employee?

3.  FORMCHECKBOX 
 None of the above applies.

4. Certain family or business relationships may prohibit an agency from hiring you.  If any block is checked in #1 or #2 above, you will be required to disclose additional information if you are selected for interview to determine whether your employment would be prohibited or would require approval.  I understand, should I become an employee of the State of Arkansas, that I may be reprimanded or terminated for failing to disclose the required information or disclosing incorrect information.

I understand that, should I become an employee of the State of Arkansas, I will be required to disclose any benefit obtained from a state contract by a business in which I have a financial interest, pursuant to ACA §19-11-706, and will be subject to civil, criminal, and/or administrative remedies if I fail to report such benefits.

I understand that, should I become an employee of the State of Arkansas, I will be restricted both during and after state employment from certain activities concerning procurement and selling to the state, pursuant to ACA §19-11-709, and will be subject to civil, criminal, and/or administrative remedies if I violate any of these restrictions.
I also understand that as an employee of the State of Arkansas I am restricted from supervising or being supervised by a relative. If I am hired and it can be proven that I falsely disclosed information in gaining employment that I could be subject to criminal or civil penalties under ACA § 25-16-1004 or § 25-16-1005. 







1

