
 WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF A 
QUALITY ACCREDITED PROGRAM? 
   
 Your program will be identified with 

Approval status maintained on file by 
DCCECE for access to parents and the 
public and through our website. 

 
 Your program will be enhanced by the 

recognition of professional 
organization/business status.  

 
 Your program and staff will be 

recognized in the Arkansas Early 
Childhood Newsletter, our website 
and at professional conferences for 
achieving higher standards. 

 
 Employees of the program will develop 

a sense of pride and professionalism 
in the everyday tasks that they 
perform. 

 
 Families who enroll their children in 

approved programs are eligible for a 
20% refundable child care credit on 
their state income taxes. 

 
 Your program will be eligible to apply 

for a Quality Accreditation Grant.  
 

  Grant amounts range from $600 to 
$1200 depending upon the size of the 
program. 

DIVISION OF CHILDCARE & EARLY 
CHILDHOOD EDUCATION 
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LICENSING AND ACCREDITATION 
PO BOX 1437, SLOT S-150 
LITTLE ROCK, AR 72203 

501/682-8590 OR FAX: 682-2317 
www.arkansas.gov/childcare 
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WHAT IS THE 
ARKANSAS QUALITY 

ACCREDITATION 
PROGRAM? 

 
P. O. Box 1437, Slot S150 

Little Rock, AR 72203-1437  
501/682-8590 

www.arkansas.gov/childcare 
 

http://www.state.ar.us/childcare�
http://www.arkansas.gov/childcare�


In 1993, the Arkansas Legislature 
enacted a bill to provide an 
opportunity for child care facilities to 
receive Approval from the State of 
Arkansas in recognition of quality 
programming. The Department of 
Human Services Division of Child Care 
and Early Childhood Education is 
responsible for the implementation, 
administration and regulation of the 
Arkansas Quality Accreditation 
Program. 
 

QUALITY ACCREDITATION 
 

This accreditation system is a 
voluntary program for all licensed 
preschools, child care centers, and 
school-age child care programs.   
 
The Environment Rating Scales are 
used to gather information about the 
program by looking at seven broad 
areas. 
 Space and Furnishings 
 Basic Care 
 Language and Reasoning 
 Learning Activities 
 Interactions 
 Program Structure 
 Needs of parents and staff 

 

 
HERE’S WHAT WE’LL DO TO  

ASSIST YOU 
 
 Consultants are available at no 

charge through Childhood Services 
at Arkansas State University to 
come on-site to identify any areas 
which need improvement before 
quality is achieved. (1-888-429-1585 
or chs.astate.edu)  

  
 Enhancement Grants are available to 

assist with equipment and materials. 
A CDA Scholarship is available. No 
grants are guaranteed. 
www.arkansas.gov/childcare 

 
 The Child Care Resource Center is 

available to assist in developing 
curriculum and educational aids. 
Copies of the Environment Rating 
Scales are also available. 
www.arkansas.gov/childcare 

ASSESSMENT PROCESS 
 

STEP 1: Obtain application packet.  
 
STEP 2: Obtain a copy of the 
Environment Rating Scales to do a 
preliminary self-assessment to 
determine areas of your program you 
may need to improve. An average score 
of 4.5 or above on each sub-scale is 
necessary for accreditation. 
 
Once the application is favorably 
reviewed, you will be contacted by 
Division staff to set up an appointment 
for an assessor to do an on-site 
evaluation. 
 

 
LEADING THE WAY 

 
When you achieve Quality Accreditation 
status, you will be part of a very special 
group in Arkansas.  
 
Most important, you will know that you 
are striving to provide high-quality child 
care.    

http://www.arkansas.gov/childcare�
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