Appraiser

***REGISTERED APPRENTICE (RA) AND STATE REGISTERED (SR) APPRAISERS - IT'S RENEWAL TIME!***

Deadline is December 31, 2022!

You can renew online using the link at the bottom of this page and then mail the appropriate renewal form to us, or you can mail your renewal form, fee, and CE completion certificates together. Please mail documents to AALCB, 900 W Capitol Ave, Suite 400, Little Rock AR 72201. If any of the required items are missing from an application upon receipt by AALCB, the application will be returned.

  • The renewal fee is $125 ($200 - $75 discount).
  • You must submit completion certificates for 14 hours of CE/QE taken within the last year.
    PLEASE NOTE: Attendance verifications are not adequate, completion certificates are required.

2023 Registered Apprentice Appraiser Renewal Form

2023 State Registered Appraiser Renewal Form

 

Arkansas (Resident) Licensed or Certified Appraiser Renewals

Please mail documents to AALCB, 900 W Capitol Ave, Suite 400, Little Rock AR 72201. If any of the required items are missing from an application upon receipt by AALCB, the application will be returned.

  • The Arkansas Appraiser 2023 Renewal Form (for Arkansas residents ONLY) must be filled out before submitting for renewal to the Arkansas Appraiser Board.
    PLEASE NOTE: The Arkansas Appraiser 2023 Renewal Form found here is not for Non-Residents or Temps. Please use forms located in the Reciprocity (Non-Resident) 1-Year Licenses or Certifications and Temporary Practice Permits sections below.
  • The fee of $265 ($340 - $75 discount) for renewed status must accompany the application.
  • Completion certificates for 28 hours of continuing education, taken every 2 years on the even numbered years (see education periods below), must accompany the application via mail or can be emailed to alcb.education@arkansas.gov or devin.parker@arkansas.gov.
    • July 2022-June 2024 to renew June 2023 or 2024
    • July 2024-June 2026 to renew June 2025 or 2026
    • July 2026-June 2028 to renew June 2027 or 2028

PLEASE NOTE: Arkansas (Resident) Licensed and Certified Appraisers must renew by June 30 of each year. If you renew after June 30, you must include the fee and $50 for each month or partial month you are late.

 

Workforce Waiver – Initial Application Fee

As mandated by Act 725 of 2021, the entities under the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing have implemented a waiver of the initial licensing fee for applicants who qualify for the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021.  If the initial applicant is currently receiving assistance through the Arkansas Medicaid Program, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC), Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program (TANF), Lifeline Assistance Program and/or the applicant was approved for unemployment within the last twelve (12) months and/or the applicant’s income does not exceed two hundred percent (200%) of the federal poverty income guidelines that applicant may qualify for the waiver.

If you meet the qualifications for the Workforce Waiver, please contact our office at (501) 296-1843 or diana.piechocki@arkansas.gov to provide documentation and request the waiver for the initial application fee.

 

Appraiser Statutes and Rules

 

Upgrade a License

Real Property Appraiser Classifications in Arkansas

 

Transfer a License from Another State

Arkansas statutes provide for the transfer of appraisers who move to Arkansas and are currently certified or licensed in other jurisdictions, provided the appraiser is coming from a State (Home State) that is “in compliance” with Title XI as determined by the Appraisal Subcommittee; the appraiser holds a valid credential from his or her Home State; the applicant's background meets AALCB qualifications, and the Home State is deemed to have substantially equivalent licensing and certification requirements.

Please mail documents to AALCB, 900 W Capitol Ave, Suite 400, Little Rock AR 72201. If any of the required items are missing from an application upon receipt by AALCB, the application will be returned.

  • The Transfer Application Form (Transfer 1101) must be filled out and notarized before submitting it to the Arkansas Appraiser Board.
  • The fee of $340 for transferring your license must accompany the application.
  • A completion certificate of your most recent 7-hour USPAP Update must accompany the application via mail or can be emailed to alcb.education@arkansas.gov or 
    devin.parker@arkansas.gov.

 

Reciprocity (Non-Resident) 1-Year Licenses or Certifications

Please mail documents to AALCB, 900 W Capitol Ave, Suite 400, Little Rock AR 72201. If any of the required items are missing from an application upon receipt by AALCB, the application will be returned.

APPLICATION:

PLEASE NOTE: As of January 1, 2017, you must submit to a background check with the initial non-resident 1-year license application. This will take time, so please plan accordingly.


RENEWAL/REINSTATEMENT:

PLEASE NOTE: Renewing a non-resident 1-year license does not require a background check, provided the applicant is within 1 year of their current expiration date.

 

Temporary Practice Permits 

Please mail documents to AALCB, 900 W Capitol Ave, Suite 400, Little Rock AR 72201. If any of the required items are missing from an application upon receipt by AALCB, the application will be returned.

APPLICATION:

  • The Temporary Practice Permit Application Form (TEMP-501) must be filled out and notarized before submitting it to the Arkansas Appraiser Board.
  • The fee of $150 for temporary status must accompany the application.

PLEASE NOTE: Temporary Practice Permits are valid for 6 months.

 

STATE LICENSED TO CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL:

 

Required Education

Statistics, Modeling, and Finance 15 hrs
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hrs
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (must be tested) 20 hrs
      Total 50 hrs

 

A. Applicants for a Certified Residential credential must meet the Qualifying Education requirements outlined in Section VI (C) on pages 32-34 of the AALCB Rules.

 

Required Experience

One thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of experience obtained during no fewer than twelve (12) months is required.  While the hours may be cumulative, the required number of months must accrue before an individual can be certified.

 

 

STATE LICENSED TO CERTIFIED GENERAL:


Required Education

General Appraiser Market Analysis & Highest and Best Use 15 hrs
Statistics, Modeling, and Finance 15 hrs
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 15 hrs
General Appraiser Site Valuation & Cost Approach 15 hrs
General Appraiser Income Approach 45 hrs
General Appraiser Report Writing & Case Studies 15 hrs
Appraiser Subject Matter Electives (must be tested) 30 hrs
Total 150 hrs


A. Applicants for the Certified General license must hold a Bachelor’s Degree or higher from an accredited college or university.
 

Required Experience
Three thousand (3,000) hours of experience obtained during no fewer than eighteen (18) months is required, of which one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours must be in non-residential appraisal work.  While the hours may be cumulative, the required number of months must accrue before an individual can be certified.

 

 

CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL TO CERTIFIED GENERAL:

 

Required Education

General Appraiser Market Analysis & Highest and Best Use 15 hrs
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 15 hrs
General Appraiser Site Valuation & Cost Approach 15 hrs
General Appraiser Income Approach 45 hrs
General Appraiser Report Writing & Case Studies 10 hrs
Total 100 hrs

A. Applicants for the Certified General license must hold a Bachelor’s Degree or higher from an accredited college or university.

Required Experience

Three thousand (3,000) hours of experience obtained during no fewer than eighteen (18) months is required, of which one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours must be in non-residential appraisal work.  While the hours may be cumulative, the required number of months must accrue before an individual can be certified.

 

Newsletters

 

Miscellaneous Forms